Revenge Wears Prada: Very Candid Book Review

Contains spoilers. Reader discretion!

The review is kind of equivalent to the book summary.

I wasn’t even sure if I wanted to do this review. But, here I am for the sake of a few hundred people reading right now. I was really excited to have picked up this book at my city’s book fair for a very reasonable price. Had I known the book would be so disappointing, I wouldn’t have paid even that much. I had read The Devil Wears Prada, and watched the movie more than 20 times. Which is why I couldn’t wait to know how Andy’s story progresses.

This year I had resolved to increase my book consumption, and being the only chic-lit book in my collection, its turn came really soon. Partly because I knew it would be a page turner. And, that it was because I read it a record speed but for all the wrong reasons. The story was flat, Andy didn’t seem like herself anymore, and she was whiny about everything. Even though she had a hot, eligible guy as her fiance, a breakthrough wedding magazine and Emily as her best friend. Yes, dear old enemy Emily from ten years ago was now closer than a sister. Literally.

But, where is Miranda Priestly you ask? Good question. Because she is the most lovably hated character of these series, her debut couldn’t have been more disappointing. Just casually at a cocktail event and then casually at a dinner she threw for Emily and Andy. Because she wants to buy their magazine. 😱 Ooh, aah? Yes, and no. I am excited that Miranda has come, but that happens about fifteen chapters in.

Till then Andy is married, supposedly has an STD, and her mother-in-law hates her. Nothing new. But actually she is pregnant! She has that cute baby girl, delays selling her magazine to Miranda’s company so that Emily may change her mind. Sells the magazine, fights with her husband, takes a break from everything.

She also gets to meet her old boyfriend. Divorces her husband and has her happily ever after with her boyfriend of ten years ago, whose name I have conveniently forgotten. Just like I did a lot of things from this book.

I did not completely hate it, but I did not love it as much as I thought I would. Lauren Weisberger has written books based on her experience as an assistant to the Editor-in-chief of Vogue. And she writes with a practical and simple hand. But this book fell short of combined expectations of readers all over the world. It’s fun, light, and full of romantic perfect moments that people can only dream of. But other than that, it could have been so much better with the kind of strong characters that it boasts of.

Suspense Rating: 2.5/5

Simplicity of Writing: 3/5

Sequel Story: 3/5

Honest Recommendation: Read it only if you love, love chic-lit and have zero expectations when you complete it.

Check out my other, more satisfactory reviews:

1984, by George Orwell

The Hypnotist, by Lars Kepler

Animal Farm, by George Orwell

The Old Man and the Sea, by Hemingway

2 thoughts on “Revenge Wears Prada: Very Candid Book Review

Add yours

  1. I watched the movie and didn’t read the first book. I honestly didn’t enjoy the first one so didn’t even know there was a second. Safe to say, now I won’t be reading that too.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑