My reading habit had been in a decline ever since the higher classes of school. And it only got worse in college, because whatever free time I had, I never committed to book reading. I didn’t stop hoarding books, although I never read them. So, I had a bookcase full of books waiting to be opened. Which is why, in a moment of wisdom, I had promised myself that I would read at least 12 books for the 12 months of 2017. And I have never been happier. Because this is a goal I can easily achieve and I have been very good so far.

I started out my re-reading phase with the fairly concise The Old Man and the Sea by Ernest Hemingway (which I will review next week). And second on my list was The Hypnotist. It is a suspense novel by Swedish author Lars Kepler. In my opinion, it is a pretty perfect murder mystery that plays on your mind just as much as a psychopath with its victim. Which isn’t a bad example because our story involves a deranged killer who needs to be sorted through. But because he is so badly injured, he needs a Hypnotist to help me out of his post-traumatic state. The investigator in-charge, Joona Linna is convinced that the hospitalised boy killed his family in cold-blood. But he doesn’t have proof yet. And the hypnotist, Erik Maria Bark had promised years ago that he wouldn’t hypnotise people. And the sister of the murderer is still out somewhere.

And, there. That is the plot that we follow so suspense-fully. The stories of all their lives are told, and somewhere, somehow they seem interlinked. Or are they? Joona is teeny bit disgraced, Erik has a sleep disorder. Erik’s son has not-so-good friends and so many people are in trouble. But the suspense that Kepler keeps up is amazing.

Lars Kepler is the pen-name of a Swedish husband-wife author team, Alexander and Alexandra. The book is regarded very highly in the crime-genre. You’ll hear people say that it does not match upto the Gods of crime-thriller writers. But, I’ll say it is pretty impressive. And, you can keep going up from this.

My Rating: 4 out of 5

Suspense Rating: 5 out of 5

Complexity Rating: 5 out of 5

General Pace of the book: 4 out of 5

Recommendation: Grab a copy soon!

Currently Reading: 1984, by George Orwell

