“Sometimes a little getaway is all you need for refreshing the senses.” This is one mantra I had heard time and again, but never put to test. Travel is not very big on my agenda and therefore, an impromptu car trip was the furthest from my mind. Although I’m sure if I get down to it, I envision my future full of a lot of travel (Even though I’m the least adventurous person I know 😛 ). But studies had been a priority for quite some time now.  A trip was long due because the last few months had been physically and emotionally exhausting. And this seemed like the perfect time to do it!

I will be adding pictures, as many as possible. Full disclosure, most of them were clicked by my brother! He has a better camera, and honestly, he’s just better at it than I ever could be! 😛

For those of you who don’t know, I live in India, specifically in the capital city of New Delhi. There is enough history and places in Delhi itself to absorb you for days! But, we chose to go to Agra this time and see the Taj Mahal. It is one of the Seven Wonders of the World. It was my first time going there since I had grown up, and it was as stirring as the words in a novel! I could finally appreciate its beauty, significance, architectural precision, and perfection.

Since a trip to Agra cannot just be about the Taj, we saw all the other iconic places of Agra as well. It was a strategically good location for rulers to establish their homes because of the Yamuna river and abundant grain. Therefore, it has a rich history of buildings, monuments, wells, temples and mosques because it has had both native and Mughal emperors. We first went to see Rambagh, earlier known as Arambagh which was the summer garden of the oldest Mughal emperor Babur. It still had lemon trees, classic chhatris and the familiar breeze alongside the river bank.

img_20170127_114727.jpg
Ram Bagh (A migratory bird can be seen in this one)

Next on our list was Mehtab Bagh which provides a perfect back-view of the iconic Taj Mahal. It is a huge area of greens originally developed alongside the Taj to provide the perfect laying ground of Shah Jahan’s dear wife. To this day, new excavations reveal interesting objects that the Mughals developed for their comfort and good use.

img_20170127_132944.jpg
The Rear View of the Taj from Mehtab Bagh

Then it was time to see the Taj Mahal itself. It is a mausoleum built by the Mughal emperor Shah Jahan for his dearest wife, Mumtaz Mehal. He claimed that it would be the most beautiful monument as a symbolic representation of her beauty and their true love for one another. It really is a gem! And the sheer number of people who turn up to see it every year is immense.

 

img_20170128_133925.jpg
Taj Mahal
img_20170128_150529.jpg
Intricate Carvings inside the Taj
img_20170128_145911.jpg
View of the massive Taj Mahal from its beautiful marble floors

And when you go to Agra, you never miss the Red Fort of Agra or the Agra Fort. It is big on the outside, massive on the inside and enormous in its history. It was made, captured, reclaimed, and rebuilt so very many times that its walls drip with royal blood and tales. It was built with strong, high walls, state of the art canal systems, gardens, manning stations, stables, kitchens, and a surrounding water enclosure that no one could cross unless the palace guards let down the drawbridge. It’s beauty and strength are a sight to behold. I swooned! As you normally do 😉

img_20170127_154243.jpg
Agra Fort Entrance
img_20170127_154249.jpg
The Daunting walls of the Agra Fort

Fatehpur Sikri is one more place which served as the capital during Akbar’s reign and defined his Persian style of architecture and planning. It is well preserved with the Buland Darwaza, Salim Chisti’s Mazaar, Jodhabai’s Mahal, Angoori Bagh, Panch Mahal, etc. It is a real image of how those times would have been. How kings cemented their rules and how they held on to their titles. It was also a show of strength.

img_20170129_141103.jpg
The Treasury of Akbar at Fatehpur Sikri
img_20170129_142708.jpg
Panchmahal (5 landings) – Seating Area of the Ladies of the Royal Court
img_20170129_150004.jpg
Saint Salim Chisti’s Mazaar (In White) – Tomb

Some other places we visited were Dayal Bagh and Itmad-Ud-Daulah’s tomb. Anyway, I particularly enjoyed this road trip. It may not seem like a lot, but these 3 days gave me a necessary respite from the everyday mundane tasks. I loved sharing this experience with you because this is what I was doing when I didn’t manage to follow my regular posting schedule.

Obviously, it was two hours ago that I sat down to write this blog post. But I stupidly picked up my phone to select the photographs. 😉 Needless to say, when I started watching them…I forgot everything else! Memories. My pictures aren’t great at all, but the beauty of nature and the very fact that it was a change of scenery makes me happy everytime I see the pics. Here are some more of them. Please leave comments if you’d like to see some more pics of our humble trip.

img_20170128_150227.jpg
Taj Mahal: Marble Carving at the door to Mumtaz Mahal’s Tomb
img_20170128_145254.jpg
The Mosque at Taj Mahal
img_20170128_145940.jpg
The View of the surrounding Gardens from the Taj itself
img_20170127_161249.jpg
Angoori Bagh at Agra Fort : formerly an orchard for Grapes
img_20170127_164529.jpg
Sunset captured along the walls of the Red Fort of Agra
img_20170129_174516.jpg
The Sun came along with us on our drive!
img_20170129_174954.jpg
Another Sunset through the clouds!

Please leave comments if you’d like to see some more pictures of our humble trip.

